Posted in Uncategorized

Journal Quilt


This is my first journal quilt that approximates the smaller size for these pieces. It was made as the first exercise in Lily Kerns’ Quilt University class on Journal Quilts.

I was trying to express the idea of inner space and outer space by using some of the same elements inside and outside the head.

Space IS the final frontier, and that includes the space inside of us!

The white dots are cut from a home-made brocade skirt I found at a thrift store. Both front and back of the fabric are showing as I fused the right side of some and the wrong side of others.

Other materials/techniques are broderie anglaise, metallic fabric and yarn couched using Super Solvy.

IN OTHER NEWS >>>>

Perhaps because of the helpful telephone coaching I received from Quinn McDonald last week, perhaps because I was out and about interacting more with people than I had for a while, perhaps because the class started and I was looking forward to it, but last week I clocked in an impressive 43 hours and 15 minutes of work, both the bread and butter kind and the fun and creative kind!

Author:

Fibre artist/writer/editor in the Hawaii of Canada, a.k.a Vancouver Island

2 thoughts on “Journal Quilt

  1. I like how you’ve used both sides of the fabric to represent both inner and outer space. It has a really permeable feel, as well, which communicates the presence of both. And your time spent working is impressive!

Leave a comment