Modern mug rug – semi guest post

mug run laura001 mug rug laura001

For the holiday meeting in December the Victoria Modern Quilt Guild had a mug rug swap.

This is the rug I received fro “Dragon Lady” Laura (it’s the subject of her art not a reference to personality!).  Laura doesn’t blog but had enclosed a handwritten note which I thought I’d memorialize here, as  a way of easing myself back into blogging without going crazy right off the bat.

Laura writes:

Dear fellow Modern Quilt Guild Member

I’ve noticed that the blogs of modern quilters include information about fabric choice and construction considerations.  So here goes (in my low tech way 🙂  )

Spool fabric was found on a field trip to the Sunshine Coast.  I’m thinking this one was from Carola’s.  Right away I knew I wanted to piece improvisationally and add some white to complement the mug.  So that I did.  Top is quilted with Wonderfil cotton Tutti TU 03, bottom is Aurifil 50 wt 3320.

Hope you enjoy the mug rug with its spools and the heart fabric showing quilting love.

Have an amazing, creative 2015.

Ironically it was Laura who saved my bacon as we were putting our efforts out, because I had completely missed the point that the mugs and rugs were supposed to be wrapped, and Laura came to my rescue with a spare plastic bag.

mug run laura002What was my mug rug like, you ask?  Well, erm, I had the best of intentions of taking pix, but with one thing and the other that didn’t happen.  However, I took two somewhat stripey fabrics and a triangle ruler which I’ve had for years but never actually used, and put together a hexagon.  The mug I chose was white with a real knitted cable knit sweater to keep the contents warm for longer so hopefully the recipient enjoys it!

Leave a Reply

