New block discovered?

Decided I really need to finish the dinosaur quilt for my grandson so was making up the last of the bow tie blocks.  Where are the dinosaurs, you ask?  Stay tuned!

photo(39)

photo(40)

Almost made a boo-boo.  It’s a blessing I noticed in time so no reverse sewing was needed.However the trusty seam ripper did not idle as I made two identical units that would not make a proper bow tie.

Decided it does have possibilities and to test with smaller pieces, using 5 inch and 2 inch scraps, the system Joan Ford uses in her book Cut the Scraps!

Of course the colour I grabbed may condemn this to orphan block status for a while.  Not a good time to let myself get detoured into exploring all the secondary patterns, because I have several projects on the go that need to be finished.  But I like the modern, energetic look it conveys.  Definite possibilities there,  what do you think?

 

And does this block have a name already?  It seems likely that someone would have already tried this and given it a name, since all it takes is six pieces of fabric.

photo(41)

Leave a Reply

