Blogger’s Quilt Festival

PHOTO(8)_crop

It occurs to me that I still haven’t posted the quilt I made in the Ana Buzzalino workshop that set me off on my current explorations.

And since it’s the Spring Blogger’s Quilt Festival, this is the perfect opportunity to share.  So do hop off  over there and vote for your favourites.  This is in the art quilt category and is 12 inches wide and 39-1/2 long.

And on the topic of voting … I put a poll which is just two posts back from this one, requesting artistic feedback, so please feel free to vote on that and help with a current project too.

Ana is a very encouraging teacher who brought many of her pieces to the workshop where we could study her techniques as we went along.  There were several examples of the Birds on a Wire that we made in the workshop, also others using the technique of piecing mixed fabrics straight onto foundation, batting and backing and then overdyeing the whole piece.

Mine includes white on white prints, black and white cotton, broderie anglaise, upholstery fabric, heavy cotton that feels like wool, assorted trims, and seersucker.  Some of these were fabrics I never thought I’d really be able to use.

beading, assorted b/w prints, eyelet trim at top

beading, assorted b/w prints, eyelet trim at top

 

I mixed peach and tangerine fibre reactive dye powders from Dharma to achieve my colour.  It’s fascinating to see how each fabric dyes differently, yet everything goes well together.

photo(9)

This detail shows dupioni silk, a strip of hook tape which I bought for the workshop because it’s polyester cotton blend so I knew it would take some dye.

It also demonstrates Ana’s saying that there’s always a fix for everything.  A hook fell right at the edge and I had to snip it out to be able to sew the binding down.  This left an ugly hole because of the way the hooks are sewn into the tape.  I found a couple of beads and covered the hole with a trim.  There’s a row of seed beads towards the bottom of the piece (below the sitting birds) but sewing through all those layers was quite tough so I left it at one row.

10 Responses to “Blogger’s Quilt Festival”

  1. Lily Says:

    Really creative and cool! I was a fashion/textile student, yet I still haven’t been brave enough to dye my own fabric! Impressive! Thanks for your comment on my BQF quilt! Lily.

    • textisle Says:

      Thank you, Lily. Once you get used to dyeing, it’s not that difficult really. The Dharma website has tons of good information and I’ve always found them great to deal with too.

  2. citricsugar Says:

    Beautiful work! I love that you dyed your own fabrics and mixed the fibres!

    • textisle Says:

      Thanks, Citric! It seems counter-intuitive and like asking for trouble, but it works. One trick is not to trim before you dye and wash the piece so you can deal with uneven shrinkage. Although that too can become a design element if you want.

  3. sewfrench Says:

    My girls are wanting me to step it up a notch and add dying to the quilting. I just laugh at them. This is gorgeous and I suppose is worth the learning curve!
    I take advantage of my creative followers to ask questions and opinions of, too. I always get great feedback. It’s a win-win!
    I also love when I run across Worpress linkups I want to post on, they are so much easier!!!)

    • textisle Says:

      Thank you. I love your hand quilted entry to the Festival. I would have commented instead of just merely “liking” it but I couldn’t see where to comment. But everyone, go check out her entry. Reading your blog made me think about hand quilting but knowing myself I suspect it will wear off.

      This is the first time I’ve overdyed anything after working on it, after dyeing cotton for “ever” which realistically would be perhaps since the mid to late 90’s. Working on something and then throwing it into a dye bath feels very permanent, but Ana does a great job of encouraging experimentation and not setting out to Create A Masterpiece. It helps!

  4. Sharon Says:

    Very brave of you to complete a piece and THEN throw it in a dyebath! I’ve been dyeing for a few years and I’ve not tried that before. I love your solution to the “hook” problem…very fun!

    • textisle Says:

      Thank you, Sharon. It is fun to see how everything turns out and good to know that you can create a piece with a unified look without driving yourself crazy trying to match up different shades of the same colour to achieve that.

  5. Rachaeldaisy Says:

    This is really beautiful, like birds at sunset. I love your explorations with dying and mixed textiles!! I’d never thought of putting the whole piece, quilted with batting and all into a dye bath.

  6. Cathi Says:

    This is a stunning piece of work! I can’t imagine being brave enough to put a finished piece in a dye bath!


Leave a Reply

