Spring Quilt Festival

Finally we are having somewhat spring-like weather here on Vancouver Island although our jackets stayed on throughout our family picnic last weekend.

This is my entry for the Spring Quilt Festival.

It’s just 12″ square, and beaded with vintage beads from Austria (among others).

The cut-and-slash style has developed from a workshop I took eons ago from John Willard

It’s similar to my Geode, but on a smaller scale.  For ages I’ve been talking about working smaller, blah, blah, blah, but the impetus to actually do this was the upcoming Artists in Motion at the Empress Show I’m going to be in, for which I need a body of pieces to sell, especially as we’re all donating 20 percent of our sales to the Canadian Red Cross for Japanese earthquake relief.

Knowing that my work will be displayed alongside painters and photographers I quizzed Dale MacEwan about how to mount them on artist’s canvas, which I think is very appropriate for this size of piece, what do you think?

The painterly fabric is Paintcubes, designed by Ormolu, a.k.a. Jay Trolinger from Spoonflower, so you too can get it!  The orange is my own hand-dyed.

Am so looking forward to the online Festival and the chance to see what everyone else is doing.


24 Responses to “Spring Quilt Festival”

  1. Janet Says:

    So interesting! I love the fabrics. I’m always wanting to make small quilts too – need an impetus to get started!

  2. Karen Says:

    I love sparkly things. Those beads add just the right punch to this piece.

  3. eileen Says:

    great!! just love teeny quilts and your pretty beads sure add a lovely touch to a cool quilt. thanks so much for sharing and have a great day

  4. Penny G Says:

    Artistic,yet not snooty. fun and pretty.

  5. Allie Says:

    Love it – it’s eye-catching, interesting and has great movement to it. Wonderful!

  6. Kelli Says:

    This is very pretty.
    Good luck with the show!

  7. Karen Says:

    Your quilt is stunning. I love the contrast of the colours and admire you taking on something so small!

  8. Rachaeldaisy Says:

    For a small piece it packs the punch of something larger! it’s wonderful!

  9. Kit Says:

    lovely little quilt!

  10. Manda Says:

    It is great! Love the beads 🙂

  11. Cynthia Says:

    cool quilting on this! Good work!

  12. What Comes Next? Says:

    I like this little quilt – definitely a piece of art. Must go check the links to the show at the Empress to see if I can fit that in. Thank you for sharing!

    • textisle Says:

      If you come to the show, be sure and introduce yourself and don’t be a stranger! Two or three other fibre artists are also showing, plus other awesome painters and photographers!

  13. Hollie Says:

    The vintage beads are beautiful!

  14. Rachel Says:

    Pretty!! I have no opinion on mounting it, but I have been thinking of doing some smaller projects myself. I see these at shows and I am always wowed at what people can fit in such a small space!! Thanks for sharing!

    Cheers!
    Rachel
    http://www.dewberrylane.com

  15. Melinda Says:

    Very pretty. I haven’t branched into embellishments yet so I like seeing how you used your beads.

  16. SarahB Says:

    Very nice piece! I like the soft texture of all the colors!

  17. ivoryspring Says:

    What a unique creation!

  18. Jen Says:

    Hi,
    My name is Jen and I work for the Canadian Red Cross – just dropping a quick line to say thank you so much for your support of our Japan Earthquake Appeal. We would love to be able to continue to connect with you. You can find us on Twitter (@redcrosscanada), Facebook (www.facebook.com/canadianredcross) and our blog is redcrosstalks.wordpress.com. Thanks once again for your support!

    • textisle Says:

      Hi Jen, Thanks for the encouragement! I’m so sorry I didn’t see this earlier, in the mad rush to be ready for the Art Show I must have missed it. The few days leading up to the 29th are a blur to me now. Will follow via Facebook and take a peek at the blog too.


Leave a Reply

