Geode

Here in all its glory is what I consider my magnum opus, to date at least.  Geode is approximately 54 inches in each direction and heavily embellished with beads, as seen here.

It’s on display at Satin Moon until Saturday.

I was inspired by this quote from Catherine Asaro’s book The Veiled Web, describing traditional Moroccan homes:  “The houses were like geodes, those rocks that appeared featureless and unadorned on the outside but when opened revealed a sparkling beauty of crystals inside.”

As I worked on completing it, it dawned on me that this is very much a metaphor for how I prefer to live, which was why the original title of this blog was Chameleon’s Nest.  I’m just not a person that wants to blurt it all out all over Facebook!

This piece is constructed of traditional strip piecing which has been slashed and reassembled.  This was the first art quilt technique I learned in a workshop with John Willard in 1998.  He doesn’t have much of a presence online, but this posting by the London Ontario Quilt Guild has lots of information about his work.

Quilted by Andrea Hamilton of Sydney, B.C.  I can’t say enough nice things about Andrea because my quilting skill is not up to the level of my design, and she definitely made all the difference!

Strictly speaking I believe it’s a house quilt, although not the traditional house block obviously.

 

7 Responses to “Geode”

  1. Kate Dolan Says:

    Amazing work – and the analogy with lifestyle choices is very thought provoking, too. Congrats on a beautiful piece of art.

  2. Catherine Asaro Says:

    I can hardly think how to express how gratifying is is to know my book inspired such a beautiful work of art. Thank you so much for posting this. It means so very, very much. What you’ve created is so lovely!

    Best always,
    Catherine Asaro

  3. Catherine Asaro Says:

    The geode imagery has always particularly struck me. I used it in my Ruby Dynasty science fiction books, too. Each emperor of the Eubian Empire names a moon of their capital planet after his empress and resurfaces the moon in her honor. The character Jaibriol named the moon Tarquine after his brilliant, enigmatic and beautiful wife. He resurfaced it in silver, but it was like a geode; he turned the inside of the moon into a brilliant work of crystal, all different colors, emerald, blue, rose. To him, that was what best symbolized his wife’s personality.

  4. textisle Says:

    oh, that is so cool, Catherine! I will have to read that series and see if inspiration strikes, quiltwise! I use a lot of metallic prints in my quilts and do some foiling too. There is a little on Geode, but mostly I stuck with beads.

  5. Spring Quilt Festival « Text/Isle Says:

    […] similar to my Geode, but on a smaller scale.  For ages I’ve been talking about working smaller, blah, blah, […]


Leave a Reply

