A banner day

 

It took just a couple of hours to create this fun banner, which is about 18 feet long and not shown in its entirety here.  I worked off this tutorial, with some variations of my own.  For example as you can see I didn’t cut any fancy flower shapes.  In fact in the end I didn’t use templates at all but folded the fabric over so as I cut it the two sides were the same size and in one piece.  Although the Purl Bee lady suggests taking your time about cutting out, I knew if I did that I would be very challenged to keep all the separate components sorted, so that was one reason to keep the pennants folded over in one piece.

To have an idea of how much I was making, I set the cut pennants out on my dining room table in rows sorted by colour.  Then I knew that each row was close to five feet long.  Of course when I was sewing, I was choosing pennants from different colours to put together.

Muslims have fewer festivals so it’s especially important to decorate when they come — this will be coming out for years to come I hope!

By the way, the green line on the wall in the background has nothing to do with the banner.   My portable design wall was under construction at the time and that line was low tack tape intended to ensure the hooks would be level, but I hadn’t yet picked up the detachable hooks when I hung the banner.

Leave a Reply

