Deconstructed Screen Printing Workshop

deconstructed scrnprnt0001

Just one of the fabulous fabrics I worked on at the Susan Purney Mark workshop on deconstructed screen printing on Saturday.  This had been previously rolled up with bubble wrap and dyed in a baggie.

deconstructed scrnprnt0002

This started life as sunprinting with Setacolor Transparent red and green (well okay, it started life as unbleached cotton, if you wanna be pedantic).  At the last moment before I laid it under the screen, I had the thought to use the “wrong” side of the fabric with slightly lighter shades of the original paint, and I believe it’s more effective because of that.

Susan was gamely teaching this technique to two of us, and other low-immersion dyeing techniques to the other three students.  We were all learning from each other, which is a hallmark of any great learning experience (and so much discouraged in formal education, sadly).  Click here to see Susan’s account and photos of us hard at play!

The other student who was taking screen printing used the wrong side of her fabric.  Then she made a round screen with a strong horizontal line, and by making multiple prints achieved a landscape effect.  Riffing from that, I made my round screen with landscape in mind.  However, looking at it you would never guess:

meerkat faces0001

I’m appealing for help here, folks: What are they? I can’t NOT see faces here, but which critter?

For some reason Saturday was mostly a red day for me, but I did a couple of non-red pieces:
paisley scrnprnt0001

This is a screen print using soy wax as the resist medium. I’m pleased with the way the turquoise and peach combined. This piece is coming dangerously close to “too beautiful to ever cut or sew.” However Spoonflower provides a way to preserve these designs so that there could always be more.  Will post more later about Spoonflower.

By the way, the colour used in the workshop was Procion dyes thickened with sodium alginate.

One Response to “Deconstructed Screen Printing Workshop”

  1. Mel Says:

    I love that red fabric. Faces, squid? I’m just getting back into screen printing, but just the stencils on shirts variety. Lovely to garner inspiration from other ppl. Thanks for visiting me, and your nice comments.


Leave a Reply

