Theme Thursday

For a peek at how British design legend Zandra Rhodes worked on the design for the opera The Pearl Fishers, click: www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHzQ_sAEivY

I’m currently working on a silk wallhanging and love the pink and orange she uses.  She reminds me a bit of Freddy Moran, so colourful and bold and talented.  And they don’t need to dress up in red hats and purple dresses to express their individuality just like everyone else either!  Secretly I’m envious (which I realize is a really corrosive emotion) because I’m still fighting against the chameleon and my urge to fade into the wallpaper.

In desperate need of a travel fix, I stumbled across 1001 Wonders.org and its “panophotographies. ”   (you can tell the authors are French and in need of an English editor LOL!)   These are 360-degree photos of UNESCO World Heritage sites.  I went to Zanzibar, Axum, and Samarkand, then for comparison checked out Luang Prabang in Laos and Ayutthaya in Thailand, places I’ve been blessed to have been able to visit in person.

It takes a while to get the hang of zooming around in the photos, and there are some limitations in that you can’t zoom in for really close details, but visually it’s a great treat.  It’s like being inside a bubble because you can look down and see pavement (remarkably similar everywhere I went!) or up and see sky.  The African sites (Axum and Zanzibar) are full of people; less in Laos, and for Samarkand I wonder if they cleared the area before starting work.  There’s not a person to be seen.

The site has over 2,000 panophotographies, so it’s going to take a while to work through them all!

I found several less creative but useful online references today:  Art and Architecture Thesaurus , the Union List of Artist Names and the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names.  I stumbled across these from The Map Room.  Within minutes of this little cyber-detour I had actually made use of the Art & Architecture Thesaurus to check a document I was editing.  And stumped by a word someone had used at a meeting which was not in the dictionary, I googled it and Urban Dictionary galloped to the rescue!

3 Responses to “Theme Thursday”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    About ‘fighting the chameleon urge to fade into the wall paper’ – I really hope you do – and I think life has natural rhythms of contraction, but that it takes real will to keep pushing past what we know (the safe and familiar) in order to grow. When I first went to guild meetings, I made myself get up there for show and share although I felt nervous and I didn’t know anyone. The first meeting I went to, I actually brought something because I’d heard there was a show and share (my first quilt guild meeting ever) but kept it hidden in my bag and didn’t even bring it out when someone inquired about the cloth doll she could see sticking out. Over time, I feel much less nervous about showing my art quilts. So I encourage you to keep flexing your ‘off the wall’ muscle!

  2. Ruth Says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, Yvonne! This is going to be a long struggle on many fronts but I guess a journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step!

  3. Travel for free | One Size Fits None Says:

    […] while back on my other blog, I wrote about panophotographies.   This post contains a link to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.  It’s amusing that even in 2009 I was […]


Leave a Reply

