Theme Thursday

Realized I need to get an early start on this as I’m going to be working tomorrow morning then going out mid-afternoon for a get together with my fibre art group followed by a workshop on making rubber stamps.

I still need to collect some inspirational images for that. Maybe a coffee mug with the handle on the left, which will then be on the right side.  My first coffee mug stamp looked funny, finally realized that I had drawn it with the handle on the right so when stamped it was for lefties, LOL!

Melanie Testa is an inspiring fabric artist whose first book , Inspired to Quilt: Creative Experiments in Art Quilt Imagery, just launched.

I was fortunate to have taken several workshops with her while she lived in Flagstaff.  This is a scan of part of a soy wax batik piece I made in one of them.

melly class fab0001

Sewq’s new blog is here at {Mu’Mu Design} ~ things are rudimentary right now but she’s getting them straightened around internet access permitting.

For people who want their journal to reflect their life in all its facets, this three-part article on the workhorse journal by Christine Cox is worth reading.  At one point I was using a similar approach but this was before my artistic side really kicked in.

At the moment I have a binder for organizing stuff; a sketch book with art journalling, swatches, and notes on projects both ongoing and potential; and a larger (11 by 14) sketchbook for more art journalling and the work I’m doing on manifesting my dream home.  My other sketchbook is 9 by 12 which give me room to let loose on the page and still be able to pop it on the scanner.

When it comes to preservation, I keep the loose leaf pages from the binder in file folders and keep my old sketch books and refer back to them from time to time.  It’s interesting to see how the same themes and images pop up from time to time.

And keeping the old pages and notebooks has saved my butt a couple of times, including one time when someone was threatening to sue me, and I was able to turn through my notes and tell them the substance and date of every conversation we had had!  I heard teeth gnashing but never got sued.

I’d be curious if anyone else has had similar experiences?

Leave a Reply

