Crime can too pay

Agatha Christie was one of the best-paid women in the world after all.   And she deserved it!

Go here for details of the Coastal Crime Wave at the Greater Victoria Public Library and a link to the Crime Writers of Canada website.

Velleity is rearing its monstrous ugly head yet again as I remember writing a whodunnit one Labour Day for the “Write A Novel in a Weekend” challenge.

I need to stay more focused on the other creative things in my life.   Too many ideas, possibilities, and projects are all competing for limited time, energy, space and brain cells!

Does anyone have any tips for staying focused?

With work I do stay focused, but with creative things I tend to start “just one more thing” and set aside the previous one.

Over the last week I’ve worked on the baby quilt challenge (the one that has to stay secret until November so I can’t post pix), and silk fusion which is not ready to be posted yet (but I’ve been most organized and took a series of photos of how I did the first project).  I put in a total of just under 30 hours.

There are two garment projects I plan to do, but they are both quick and simple, two seams and a hem type deals.  At least everything LOOKS like that from a distance and then all of a sudden you’re knee deep in alligators!  I need a ballpoint machine needle for one (knit fabric) and I still have to pick up the fabric for the other one at Fabricland hopefully tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Crime can too pay”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    About staying focused – I write ideas down as they occur to me and then let them go knowing that I can come back to them. I know I will never be able to complete all the ideas that I have and I just pick one to work on – or it picks me- and then I only work on that. I find there are difficult stages in most creative projects, where I want to throw in the towel and it really requires discipline to stay with it. I also find that I develop a relationship with the creative work I’m doing and need to feed that a little every day to keep current with it and ensure I continue to want to work on it. On the other hand, I also find that different art forms are useful as fuel for each other – so – writing or photography feed my muse and actually help me stay on track, providing some balance. I’ve heard that some art quilters work on several projects concurrently, but working on one thing at a time works best for me.

    • textisle Says:

      Hi Yvonne,

      Thanks for the input.

      Do you write all your ideas down in one dedicated notebook, or how does that work for you?

      I can totally relate to the difficult stage where you want to throw in the towel, or you wish it was green but it’s already purple, or whatever. I had that big-time with the Trace Elements piece.

      But last week I caught myself NOT in that place, yet still seduced to start several new projects, and I need to create some mechanism to curb that tendency.

      When I first started with fibre arts, I had done a lot of creative writing and one quilting buddy was actually upset that I was setting that aside because she said “Anyone can make a quilt, but most people can’t write.”

      However I know in myself that only I can make my pieces.

      For a long time I would write for a while, then quilt, or alternate between a more traditional quilt and something more experimental. Perhaps working as an editor has something to do with it (since that is a change of career that occurred in 2004~2005 after I was launched into fibre arts)?

  2. Yvonne Says:

    When I began working with fabric I had a day minder where I tracked what I did daily and wrote down ideas as they occurred. Since I now use a blog to track what I’m doing, when I have an idea I write it in the old dayminder which still has room left. It is completely disorganized and random – so not the best system for finding information. I can’t say I go back to it much either in case I don’t have an idea because there seems to be no shortage of those!! I think the design stage of a piece is the most exciting – like having dessert before dinner, so I’m not surprised you are tempted to start something new – and this happens to me, too. About writing and quilt making – I think anyone can do either, but the challenge is both to actually do it and then to do it well. When I edit something, I get very engrossed in sculpting with words and that process seems similar to when I am designing an art quilt – evaluating what stays, what goes, moving things around, etc. So in a way, I’m exercising and expressing the same way, only with a different medium or language.


Leave a Reply

