Productivity

Last week I put in 31-1/2 hours.

I need to challenge myself to make more of those hours count towards productive output and completion of projects.

5 Responses to “Productivity”

  1. Laura Says:

    HI Ruth
    What a great goal – productivity towards completion.
    It’s so easy to spend time without completing things.
    I was interested how the speaker today used her piece completed in the process of the the little pieces together (can’t recall what she called it) to build the sunflower wall hanging.

    • textisle Says:

      Did she call it tiling? I have been thinking about that ever since this morning, it looked so cool! Will try Googling it

      • Yvonne Says:

        I think the guild library has a book on ‘mosaic quilting’ – I took it out thinking I’d try it once – but it’s still on my list! I imagine that tweezers would come in handy:) About completion – I notice when I do experiments that I often take them further into finished pieces like Susan did with her sunflower. While this means very few UFO’s, I also wonder if it’s the best use of my stitch time because perhaps something more planned would yield a better result. I end up with alot of small projects developed as I go and less large and more impactful ones. Always so many aspects to consider! Why did you change your blog, Ruth?

      • textisle Says:

        Yvonne,

        You have the satisfaction of having something finished, plus the practice in the finishing techniques, which means that later when you
        do

        plan something more, you will have all the techniques at your fingertips.

        This is something that I’ve only recently really come to realize.

        Another point to consider is that smaller pieces are easier to display and eventually sell to others.

        I changed my blog because I took an online class with Quinn McDonald who runs the raw art Yahoo group. She started a wordpress blog for the class and made all the students in the class authors, so we could all post work and thoughts and discuss amongst ourselves. I realized that WordPress has a lot more features, such as categories.

        This means that if half my posts are on art quilting and the other half are on breeding hamsters or collecting glass paperweights, once the posts are categorized the art quilters can avoid the hamsters, and the hamster enthusiasts can just read about hamsters.

        Apparently there are many more features which I plan to explore bit by bit.

      • textisle Says:

        I could not find anything relevant under tiling on Google, but I think it’s related to Snippits.


Leave a Reply

