Visual Journaling in Movie

I’m one of those frugal people who waits for movies to come out on video, and in pre-Netflix days I would even wait for them to go off the new releases list so they would be even less expensive.

So it was that I watched The Manchurian Candidate the other night. I’m talking about the 2004 version, not the 1963(?) original with Lawrence Harvey and Angela Lansbury. Two things struck me:

one – it avoids the “obvious” enemy and still seems plausible
two – the visual journaling shown where one of the characters is trying to come to terms with being brainwashed

There! I’ve said what I wanted to say without giving away any surprises.

Leave a Reply

