Bloggers Quilt Festival Fall 2013

Blogger's Quilt Festival - AmysCreativeSide.com

It’s that exciting time of the year again!

For those who can’t go to Houston we have the Bloggers Fall Quilt Festival, and here is my entry to the art quilt category …

photo(51)

This piece evokes the Grand Canyon where you can gaze down at millions of years of rock layers carved by the Colorado River, then up at the big Western sky.

I  made this in late spring using a variety of techniques, creating strata which I pieced like bargello for the rocks at the bottom, which I then ice-dyed (soaked the piece in soda ash solution, then placed it flat on a rack in a large pan, covered it with ice cubes and sprinkled various procion dye powders over the top).

I used a similar ice-dyeing technique for the sky at the top, making several attempts before I was satisfied.

The river is a synthetic fibre.  I made several trial blocks to get the curving effect.

It’s 17 inches wide and 22 inches high, and was my entry into our Guild retreat’s challenge.  Our theme was the Wild, Wild West and really nothing is wilder than the Grand Canyon.

First featured here

with process posts here, and here, here, and here

.. and now I’m off to check out everyone else’s entries!  Yay!

P.S.  For the first time, I’ve entered a second quilt in the festival, in Baby Quilts

7 Responses to “Bloggers Quilt Festival Fall 2013”

  1. Baby Quilt for Bloggers Quilt Festival | Text/Isle Says:

    […] Here is my entry to the Baby Quilt category, where I see many, many wonderful creations already.  Although I have entered the festival before, this is my first time to have two entries.  My other quilt is an art quilt and you can see it here. […]

  2. Q&B Says:

    Hi Text/Isle, Thanks for visiting my blog. I answered your question that you asked on my post. What a creative quilt this is. I love the pink and the purple fabric that you created. I am glad that you used a solid fabric for the brown (the middle part). It let’s the eyes rest between the top and the bottom fabrics. Great job.

    • textisle Says:

      Hi Q&B I will head over to your blog for your reply!
      Actually it doesn’t show up too well in the photo, but the solid brown is a repurposed bubble skirt made of broderie anglaise (cutwork) and so has a pattern of little holes running across it. Maybe I will post a detail photo later to show that.

  3. What comes next? Says:

    like your ice dyed fabrics – and you’ve used them well!

  4. citricsugar Says:

    Just beautiful! Lovely hand-dyes – they’re perfect for all that desert shading.

  5. sewfrench Says:

    My girls keep telling me I should get into dying, but it just seems like an entirely new art form! This is lovely! Great job creating the vision, it worked!

  6. Debbie Says:

    Great use of the fabrics you made of different techniques! Thanks for your comment on my entry!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

