Baby Quilt for Bloggers Quilt Festival

Yes, it’s That Time Again!

AmysCreativeSide

How awesome that Amy puts in the effort to bring this to the blogging/quilting community twice every year!

Here is my entry to the Baby Quilt category, where I see many, many wonderful creations already.  Although I have entered the festival before, this is my first time to have two entries.  My other quilt is an art quilt and you can see it here.photo(80)

Although I have made a couple of other baby slab quilts, this was my first attempt to go low volume and “air out” the block by alternating them with white on white blocks.

Slab blocks are such fun and a great way to use up scraps in a colour controlled way that results in a cohesive piece.  I’ve posted numerous times about slab blocks and Cheryl Arkison’s work which was what got me started on this tack.

Comments are welcome and please visit the other sites that are participating in the various categories.  You’ll be glad you did.

13 Responses to “Baby Quilt for Bloggers Quilt Festival”

  1. Bloggers Quilt Festival Fall 2013 | Text/Isle Says:

    […] P.S.  For the first time, I’ve entered a second quilt in the festival, in Baby Quilts […]

  2. Q&B Says:

    Hi Text/Isle – Thanks for sharing the baby quilt. Great way of using leftover pieces.

  3. What comes next? Says:

    working with slabs is fun – this looks like a great, cuddly baby quilt

  4. pam cole Says:

    love your slabs…i am inspired to do another w low volume and i love your idea of using more white. xo

  5. citricsugar Says:

    Baby slabs? Wonderful!!

  6. Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation Says:

    Your baby quilt is really pretty! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog to comment on my scrappy quilt as well! Since wordpressers show up as no-reply to us blogger users (I hate that), I wanted to pop over and thank you “in person.” To answer your question, my improv blocks were 12 inches finished.

    Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    • textisle Says:

      Hi Kelly,

      Thanks for stopping by!
      And thanks for the info’ about the block size. 12 inches finished sounds good. 15 inches for Southern Alberta flood relief was a big large, and 9 inches can be a bit confining.

      I haven’t been ignoring you or anyone else and will get around to approving all the comments from quilters. My Firefox browser froze and on Chrome it was impossible to reset my password. I just got back in now through Internet Explorer.

      So frustrating because my traffic was up and I kept seeing emails that folks were making comments. I know my traffic was up because yesterday I actually had ads on my blog for the first time ever, but today they’re gone again.

  7. sewfrench Says:

    I had to look up who Cheryl was. I know the Amandajean half of the duo!! Slabs rock!

  8. SarahZ Says:

    I will have to check out the “slabs”, thanks for the link! This is darling!!!

  9. Debbie Says:

    I like a low volume quilt that still has some volume. Very nice!

  10. Leanne Says:

    The colours in your quilt are just so pretty!

  11. Still designing Modern Quilt Guild Banner Block … | Text/Isle Says:

    […] okay to bring orphan blocks.  I’m curious to see how similar the method is to building slabs, which I’m still […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

